Cookies on the Freedom Insurance Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.

Please ensure you are happy with our cookie policy

CALL FREEDOM 01223 446914

Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5.30pm
Saturday 9.00am - 5.00pm
Closed Bank Holidays

Contact Us

Call Freedom 01223 446914

Monday to Friday 8.30am - 5.30pm

Saturday 9.00am - 5.00pm

Closed Bank Holidays

Latest News

Keep up to date with the latest travel news and information from Freedom Insurance Services Ltd.

European Health Insurance Card

The European Health Insurance Card Scheme or EHIC (formally known as E111) is available to all UK residents and provides the holder with the right to be treated on the same terms as a citizen of the country they are currently in. The level of treatment available will vary depending on which country you are in at the time and you may find that treatment which is usually free on the NHS, may not be free in other countries even with the EHIC.

Be warned, the European Health Insurance Card does not work in the same way as travel insurance and will not cover you for all the things that insurance does. In order to ensure you are fully covered you should use the EHIC along with European travel insurance as the following items are not covered by the EHIC:

  • All your medical costs
  • Additional cost of accommodation if you or a traveling companion is forced to stay in a foreign country longer than expected due to a medical problem
  • Private treatment
  • Repatriation to the UK
  • Cancellation of a holiday

At Freedom Insurance we reward our customers who use the EHIC to reduce the cost of emergency medical expenses abroad by not charging the usual excess under section B of the policy - emergency medical and other expenses when you make a claim.

The EHIC can provide free or reduced emergency medical expenses in the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


You can get more information or apply for an EHIC at